Chit-Chat: Friends, and Being (A)social

Today I am going to do something a little different. I am going to do a chit-chat, I am just going to talk to you guys about some things that are on my mind!

 

Friends and being (a)social

Last week I went to a cocktailbar with the same friends that I have been to the Food Truck Festival with. We were celebrating one of my friends birthday and we had an amazing evening. The thing is that I feel really really privileged that I have these amazing friends that I can say everything to and that I have so much fun with! I know that they will always be there for me and they support me in every way possible… The things is tough that I know that not everyone is privileged with friends like that. I am so so happy that I have those friends but that is for some people not obvious. Some people don’t have good friends or even any friends and in worst cases: they get bullied.

In Primary School I didn’t have that much friends. I don’t know if I could call it bullying (maybe only a few times) but I didn’t really fit in. I had the feeling nobody liked me and that nobody understood me. And I get that I am definitely not the only person that has ever felt like that and there are probably so much people that are feeling like that right now!

People can keep saying: “Ignore it” “Try to fit in” “Talk with other people”, but all of this is sometimes not that easy! And I don’t think that there is someone who has come up with a solution so that every person would feel confident and feel that they fit in. It just doesn’t work that way.

But there are little things that we can do to make a person feel better in a group. If we would all make a little effort and try to be nice to one another, that would already make a huge difference! And don’t make someone feel bad about themselves just because they are a little different or don’t dress like you… And even if you don’t really like a person, don’t make that person feel bad about himself!

For some people being social is really easy. I, for example, am pretty good at meeting new people but other people may not feel confident while meeting others. If you see someone is not that confident in talking to people, go to that person yourself and start a conversation.

I have the feeling that being social is really special these days. Lots of people don’t feel confident anymore to talk to another person but that is not rare because all we do know is trough the internet! And I get it, it is so much easier to talk to someone online and don’t have to talk to that person in real life because it might get awkward or weird. But be aware: you can be social online and asocial in real life.

Sometimes you are so hung up on your phone that you don’t see the people around you anymore. And have to say that I am guilty of that sometimes too. I can get cought up to my phone a little to much sometimes and it is not polite against people around me. The thing is that you don’t even see that you are being asocial and are only busy with your phone and not with the people around you. The thing is that you could even meet new people if you were not only busy with your phone.

I have seen a video about looking up from your phone: Look Up by Gary Turk

The fact that so many feel misfit in a group can definitely depend on whether or not that group is always on their phones or if they are really social and talking.

So the thing I want to say with this post is just: put your phone down some more and talk to the people around you, make sure that everyone feels good when you are around and don’t exclude people from things that you are doing or from your group.

 

I hope you liked a post like this because there will probably be some more of these.

Thanks for reading and I will speak to you on Wednesday!

Kisses, Just A Girl

2 thoughts on “Chit-Chat: Friends, and Being (A)social”

  1. It’s so lovely that you have close friends. In my case, I hardly find people that I connect to on a basic level. I end up not making friends at all due to this reason. Nice post by the way! X

    Like

    1. I promise you that one day you will! And I know how hard it is to get to that part because like I said I didn’t fit in. But when you find that little group of people that are worth so much, you will feel as lucky as never before! Stay strong, I promise you will find them x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment